THE MUSIC OF CAROLINE SHAW: American Contemporary Music Ensemble (ACME)

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Brookfield Place
Winter Garden
220 Vesey Street

Led by artistic director and cellist Clarice Jensen, the American Contemporary Music Ensemble (ACME) is dedicated to the outstanding performance of masterworks from the 20th and 21st centuries, primarily the work of American composers. The ensemble presents cutting-edge literature by living composers alongside the “classics” of the contemporary. ACME’s dedication to new music extends across genres, and has earned the group a reputation among both classical and rock crowds. Time Out New York calls the group “one of New York’s brightest new music indie-bands,” while The New York Times describes ACME’s performances as “vital,” “brilliant,” and “electrifying."

In 2013 Caroline Shaw was awarded a Pulitzer Prize in Music for writing Partita for 8 Voices. At the age of 30, Shaw is the youngest-ever recipient of this coveted prize. This year’s New Sounds Live events focus on Shaw’s extraordinary work with two nights of live music performed by two of her ensembles and featuring screenings of her film Riternello. A multimedia installation and live performance piece for voices or for strings, the film was inspired by architecture, the notions of return and memory, and by the tale of Rip Van Winkle. The accompanying music includes elements of American hymnody, Baroque music, and her own contemporary sonic sensibility. Shaw says that Ritornello, with its shots of New York bridges and a stop-action sequence of paper folding and unfolding, “tries to evoke the notion of time folding in on itself, repeating and forgetting and unfolding again.”

Curated by John Schaefer, host and producer of WNYC Radio’s popular radio shows New Sounds and Soundcheck.

Share a link to the page by email

Link to the page will be automatically included in email.